thinking outside the bounding box

Mapzen is an open and accessible mapping platform. We're focused on the core components of geo platforms, including search, rendering, navigation, and data. We continue to take a radical approach to working on these components—we build them all entirely in the open.

We build these things and provided them as a commercial service until 2018, but these are tools that developers at any level can easily set up and use themselves, for free. We don’t want to lock users into proprietary platforms, relying on black boxes they can’t take apart. That’s why we work on individual components, modular building blocks that anyone can use for better maps. We build things so you can build things.

Founded by map industry veterans in combination with architects, urban planners, movie makers, video game developers, artists and more, Mapzen empowers organizations of all sizes to reimagine what’s possible with cartography today. Based out of the Samsung Accelerator, we support the geo community through building tools and collaborating on open source mapping projects. We believe that a healthy mapping ecosystem is one that is diverse, sustainable, and accessible to all.

Maps are and for centuries have been incredibly powerful tools for shaping how we see the world and how we live in it. Open-source map technologies follow a long tradition of community-powered cartography. Strengthening that community is core to our success, and all of our work begins at that level. Mapzen starts where you are.


  • Matt Amos
  • Theresa Bhat
  • Matt Blair
  • Brett Camper
  • Aaron Straup Cope
  • Mike Cunningham
  • Drew Dara-Abrams
  • Ekta Daryanani
  • Ian Dees
  • Kristen DiLuca
  • Stephen Epps
  • Rhonda Friberg
  • Duane Gearhart
  • Rhonda Glennon
  • Evan Griffiths
  • Meghan Hade
  • Grant Heffernan
  • Stephen Hess
  • Cedric Howe
  • Hannes Janetzek
  • Hanbyul Jo
  • Nathaniel Vaughn Kelso
  • Greg Knisely
  • Katie Kowalsky
  • Kevin Kreiser
  • Sarah Lensing
  • Rob Marianski
  • Randy Meech
  • Karim Naaji
  • David Nesbitt
  • John Oram
  • Dan Phiffer
  • Ian Rees
  • Peter Richardson
  • Geraldine Sarmiento
  • Diana Shkolnikov
  • Julian Simioni
  • Matt Smollinger
  • Varun Talwar